The Lien Ying Chow Legacy Fellowship

The Lien Ying Chow Legacy Fellowship, established in year 2007, is targeted at outstanding senior government officials and distinguished professionals, as well as academics from Singapore and China.

The Fellowship provides a platform for both countries to gain useful insights from each other’s expertise in public administration, corporate governance and management. The cross-border exposure will foster a deep appreciation of distinctive elements in the two cultures.

One of the key goals of the Lien Ying Chow Legacy Fellowship is to broaden horizons and establish long-lasting and meaningful bilateral relationships through networking opportunities with peers from the academic, as well as the public and private sectors. Fellows will benefit from the academic environment in the leading universities in both countries, and other participating institutions where they undergo their research programmes.

The Fellowship aims to inspire fellows, who in partnership with others, to spearhead a process of positive change for both countries.

Vision and mission

The Lien Ying Chow Legacy Fellowship aims to strengthen ties and promote mutual understanding between Singapore and China, to bring about social and economic development for both countries.

The Fellowship council

Mr Lim Chee Onn
Mr Lim was former Cabinet Minister of Singapore. He started his career in civil service and had served as a Member of Parliament, Minister at the Prime Minister’s Office, and Secretary-General of National Trades Union Congress. He was the Executive Chairman of Keppel Corporation Limited for 8 years since 2000. Mr Lim is currently the Senior International Adviser to the Ascendas-Singbridge Group. He chairs the Singapore-Suzhou Township Development Pte Ltd and is an Honorary Chairman of the National Heritage Board. Mr Lim is a Board Member of the Monetary Authority of Singapore, a Member of the Council of Presidential Advisers and a Director of the International Institute for Strategic Studies (Asia) Ltd. He is also Pro-Chancellor of the Singapore Management University and a Board Director of Orica Ltd, a listed company on the Australia Stock Exchange. He was conferred the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Engineering by Glasgow University and conferred the Distinguished Service Order by HE The President, Republic of Singapore and Commander, Order of the Crown, by HM King Albert II, Kingdom of Belgium. Mr Lim is an Honorary Citizen of Suzhou, People’s Republic of China, and Seoul, Republic of Korea.
Mr Stanley Loh Ka Leung
Is the Singapore’s Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China. He also served as Deputy Secretary (International) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore Trade Representative in Taipei, Press Secretary to then Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong and Deputy Chief of Mission at the Singapore Embassy to the USA.
Ms Lien Siaou-Sze
Is the Senior Executive Coach at Mobley Group Pacific. Prior to this role, she was Senior Vice President with HP Asia-Pacific & Japan. Ms Lien is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Nanyang Technological University.
Mr Vincent Lien
Is a director of Wah Hin & Company. He has more than 20 years of extensive banking experience in Asia and held senior appointments with ABN AMRO Bank (Singapore), Bankers Trust & Company (Hong Kong and Beijing) and Swiss Bank Corporation (Hong Kong and Shanghai).
Mr Laurence Lien
Is the CEO and Co-Founder of the Asia Philanthropy Circle. He is also the Chairman of Lien Foundation, Chairman of the Community Foundation of Singapore and board member of the Lien Centre for Social Innovation at the Singapore Management University.
Mr Koh Beng Seng
Is the CEO of Octagon Advisors Pte Ltd. He has extensive experience in the financial services sector. Prior to joining Octagon, he was the Deputy President of Singapore’s United Overseas Bank.
Prof Alan K. L. Chan
Is the Vice President (Alumni and Advancement) and Dean of the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at Nanyang Technological University. Previously, he was Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education at the National University of Singapore. He taught at the University of Manitoba, Canada before he joined the National University of Singapore in 1991. Prof Chan is also committee, Vice-chair for New Silk Road Peak of Excellence, President’s Office.
Prof Er Meng Hwa
Is the Senior Advisor of President's Office at Nanyang Technological University. He has been with NTU since 1985 and has held several key management and leadership positions at the university. He is the first Singaporean and first academic in Asia to be conferred an Honorary Fellowship by the London-based Institution of Electrical Engineers in 2005.
Prof Liu Hong
Executive Director
Is the Executive Director of the Lien Ying Chow Legacy Fellowship. He is the Tan Kah Kee Endowed Professor of Public Policy and Global Affairs at Nanyang Technological University, Chair of the School of Social Sciences and Director of the Nanyang Centre for Public Administration. Prof Liu is Chang Jiang Scholar Honorary Chair Professor (Ministry of Education, China) and an Expert Consulting Member of the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council, PRC.